The Big Move: Financial Projections

For the average late twenties American, I’m doing pretty well on the debt front. Twenty-somethings are carrying $45,000 in debt on average, whereas I have about $10,500.

That debt is:

  • $8,000 in federal student loans from undergrad (I was lucky enough to get a full scholarship and living stipend for graduate school).
  • $2,500 in personal loans from two relatives.  I’m incredibly fortunate to have two family members who are willing and able to allow a further lengthening of my already slow loan payback in order for me to make this move.

My assets are not impressive.  My net worth is still negative.  By the time I leave for Johannesburg, I will have:

  • A little more than $6,000 in retirement savings.
  • A cushion of one month’s salary plus close to another month’s salary in payment for unused vacation days.
  • $760 from the return of my security deposit
  • $250-$500 from selling my furniture on Craigslist
  • $2,500 in emergency savings

All told after moving expenses, I should land in Johannesburg with $1,500-$2,000 in my checking account and $2,500 in emergency savings.
So my projected financial snapshot looks like this:

Fingers crossed that all goes according to plan!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

